Tumeric with it's numerous benefits we are yet to uncover- See my review

in StemSocial2 months ago

KOLORO_1659188870722.jpg
Tumeric in a tray. Photo captured by me, using Oppo mobile device

It was by chance that my younger ones, who were out harvesting corn because it is rainy season and farming has already begun, discovered a clump of Tumeric plants not far from our farm yesterday. They made the decision to uproot a few and bring them back home to use right away. My interest in the medicinal properties of these spices was piqued, so I set out to conduct research and publish my findings on the subject. As a last note, I just happened to acquire this data today, and I hope you enjoy your reading on this topic.

These days, there is a significant quantity of turmeric available all over the world. Coffee shops are employing this bright yellow spice in a variety of their food items, including turmeric lattes, turmeric poached eggs, turmeric smoothies, and even chocolate bars. Let's take a step back and analyze what exactly it is about this material that allows it to maintain its freshness for such an extended period of time, even though its bright yellow hue is very wonderful.

A Brief Overview of the Uses for Turmeric
Turmeric is a plant native to India and Central America. According to the National Institutes of Health's National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health, you're probably most familiar with it from its frequent appearance in Indian food (NIH). The root of turmeric, which resembles ginger in appearance, can be found in the produce section of your local grocery store.

Alternatively, you can buy it in the form of a spice combination, like curry powder, or ground as turmeric. Many health issues, including pain and tiredness, have been treated with turmeric in Ayurvedic therapy for a long time. Spices and religious rituals in Southeast Asia have been used for many years, according to the book Herbal Medicine: Biomolecular and Clinical Aspects. In truth, this practice stretches back to the region's earliest civilisation. In light of its recent ascension to the ranks of a superfood, turmeric is being used to cure disease and reduce inflammation.

What's the Difference Between Curcumin and Turmerir

Tumeric in a tray. Photo captured by me, using Oppo mobile device

There are more than a hundred different chemical components found in turmeric. Curcumin, the active ingredient in turmeric, is the one that's getting the most attention. Curcumin, the molecule responsible for turmeric's vibrant yellow hue, barely accounts for 5% of the spice, according to a study published in the Journal of Medicinal Chemistry in January 2017. Curcumin is responsible for most of the health advantages of turmeric.

What Turmeric Does for Your Body
In one teaspoon of ground spice, there are 9 calories (tsp). According to the USDA's MyPlate guidelines, it has 0.3 grams (g) of protein and 0.7 grams (g) of fibre in a small amount, which is a lot for such a small amount. It has 1.65 milligrams of iron, which is about 9% of the daily value for this nutrient. Because of this, you probably only eat a little bit more than that. For example, adding just a tsp to a dish can make the whole thing better.

Not only is turmeric a vibrant and tasty spice, but there is a wealth of research suggesting that it may also have positive effects on one's health. According to a review that was published in October 2017 in the journal Foods, many of turmeric's benefits have been attributed to curcumin, the principal plant ingredient that gives turmeric its distinctive bright yellow colour.

The following are some of the potential health benefits of turmeric and curcumin for you:

Reduce the Pain of Arthritis
Because of the anti-inflammatory qualities that curcumin possesses, it has the potential to be a helpful treatment for inflammatory disorders such as arthritis. For instance, one previous study found that patients with rheumatoid arthritis who took a curcumin supplement of 500 milligrams twice daily for eight weeks saw greater improvements in joint tenderness and swelling than patients who took a prescription anti-inflammatory medication or a combination of the two treatments. This was compared to patients who took either medication alone or both medications together.

Stop or cure depression
A protein in the brain and spinal cord called Brain-derived neurotrophic factor (BDNF) that controls how nerve cells talk to each other has been linked to depression. People with depression have less BDNF in their bodies. Rats' BDNF levels went up after taking curcumin for 10 days, according to a study in the journal Behavioural Brain Research. In April 2014, Phytotherapy Research published a short study that found that people with the major depressive disorder who took 1,000 mg of curcumin every day for six weeks did just as well as those who took an antidepressant or a combination of the two.

Get involved in the fight against diabetes
Curcumin's anti-inflammatory properties make it a possible therapy option for inflammatory diseases such as diabetes as well. After 16 weeks of supplementing obese mice with type 2 diabetes with curcumin, blood insulin levels were reduced, according to a study published in Nutrition & Metabolism in July 2019. According to a review in Evidence-Based Complementary and Alternative Medicine, curcumin may also help prevent type 2 diabetes by improving insulin resistance, lowering high blood sugar, and reducing high cholesterol.

Is There a Risk to Consuming Turmeric?

Tumeric in a tray. Photo captured by me, using Oppo mobile device

Taking turmeric in excessive dosages or for lengthy periods, however, may cause stomach irritation, according to the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH). Curcumin was reported to cause diarrhoea, skin rash, yellow faeces, and headache in a small prior study of 24 persons who took 500 to 12,000 mg daily of curcumin.

Incorporating both Turmeric and Black Pepper into your cooking.

Turmeric has a number of potential health benefits, but unfortunately, your body has a hard time absorbing enough of it for you to experience those benefits. The good news is that combining it with another spice, specifically black pepper (Piper nigrum), may increase its effectiveness in the body.

When piperine, black pepper's major constituent and curcumin, are combined, the bioavailability of curcumin can be increased by as much as two thousand per cent, a previous study has shown. It has been found that piperine boosts the bioavailability of numerous nutrients by blocking enzymes that break down meals and other substances.

You should look for a supplement that contains piperine if you plan to use turmeric or curcumin for health reasons


That brings us to the conclusion. I want to express my gratitude to you for taking the time to read this post, and I pray that God will richly reward you.

5s4dzRwnVbzGY5ssnCE4wXzkeAEXyVtgk1ApQTwHMTp6y5PvEo1yennCKQRd5YWCghPoAXpZRoCcQQNkoWiDbGAa5JexMx3d4by9Cm8dcCUTKwLBfeZbqt6y583ACJMuTQ6VWomYjuJWSReV2JM1mVg6vKGRe23pKXgEzhU.png

Referencs

Migala, Jessica, and Lynn Grieger RDN, CDCES. “Turmeric (Curcumin): Uses, Dosage, Benefits, Side Effects, More.” EverydayHealth.Com, www.everydayhealth.com, 28 May 2020, https://www.everydayhealth.com/diet-nutrition/diet/turmeric-curcumin-benefits-side-effects-types-more/.

“TURMERIC: Overview, Uses, Side Effects, Precautions, Interactions, Dosing and Reviews.” TURMERIC: Overview, Uses, Side Effects, Precautions, Interactions, Dosing and Reviews, www.webmd.com, https://www.webmd.com/vitamins/ai/ingredientmono-662/turmeric. Accessed 31 July 2022.

Gunnars, BSc, Kris. “10 Proven Health Benefits of Turmeric and Curcumin.” 10 Proven Health Benefits of Turmeric and Curcumin, www.healthline.com, https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/top-10-evidence-based-health-benefits-of-turmeric. Accessed 31 July 2022.

“Turmeric - Wikipedia.” Turmeric - Wikipedia, en.m.wikipedia.org, 1 June 2021, https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Turmeric.

“Turmeric | NCCIH.” NCCIH, www.nccih.nih.gov, https://www.nccih.nih.gov/health/turmeric. Accessed 31 July 2022.

Prasad, Sahdeo, and Bharat B. Aggarwal. “Turmeric, the Golden Spice - Herbal Medicine - NCBI Bookshelf.” Turmeric, the Golden Spice - Herbal Medicine - NCBI Bookshelf, www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov, 1 Jan. 2011, https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK92752/.

Who Am I?

I am a complete beginner who resides in Africa's Western Hemisphere. My name is James, but you may reach out to me through the Facebook page [Christ Messenger] (https://www.facebook.com/christ.messenger.904) In the year 2018, I completed my high school diploma. Physics, chemistry, and biology are the topics that I find the most enjoyable. My current studies are taking place at the university level, intending to become a recognized professional in one of the topics I am interested in. My professional experience as a computer hardware technician is in the middle of the spectrum. My interest in learning more about computer technology and its upkeep grew when I received my SSCE qualification in 2018. I am fascinated by all things technological, and I take pleasure in contributing to the fascinating technological advancements that are taking place throughout the world today. In my spare time, I'd like to learn more about programming and aid others in resolving any technical issues they may be experiencing. 💞 *********🌹❤️ Thank you so much to everyone who has supported me thus far. ********💞 Currently, I am unable to express my appreciation for all of your assistance in appropriate words. You never cease to astonish me with your generosity. For me, this has turned into a haven of enjoyment. Thanks to colleagues like you, this has all been possible. You've been a great support to me. Everything you have done for me and my family has been greatly appreciated, and I will always be grateful to you.💕.
Sort:  

It's Turmeric btw. But, it has so many health benefits and also used as to add medicinal properties in some Ayurvedic drugs.

The one you showing is quite different from what we have here, we have very shiny and slightly golden in color with large irregular texture and may possess different qualities than what is shown here.

The biggest benefit it has it reduces cholesterol if used few slices a day with a single meal. Normally, every meat stew has it in paste form over here.

Thanks for a nice post.

!PIZZA

The one you showing is quite different from what we have here, we have very shiny and slightly golden in color with large irregular texture and may possess different qualities than what is shown here.

That's a valid point, my friend. The photos above were been edited to increase their quality, so that's something to keep in mind. As a result, the color of the photographs changed because of the filters I employed.

You appear to be of Asian descent; if this is the case, please let me know. Do you use tumeric frequently?

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
emaxisonline tipped jsalvage (x1)
@curation-cartel(18/20) tipped @jsalvage (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

You know, differentiating Turmeric and Ginger can be a little difficult, except for the color after cutting for me. My concern with food is that while it is always beneficial, it could become detrimental over a period of time. Take Garlic for example, as good as it is, it still has the heartburn issue amongst others.

You have every justification for your position. You need to understand that every single thing that has a benefit also has a drawback. Despite the fact that I haven't finished reading the comment, it appears that there are some drawbacks to using turmeric. According to the findings of the research, a wonderful complement with them would be black pepper.

Congratulations @jsalvage! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 55000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 56000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The 8th edition of the Hive Power Up Month starts today!
Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Great article!

!1UP

image.png

1UP-PIZZA.png

You have received a 1UP from @kwskicky!

The @oneup-cartel will soon upvote you with:
@stem-curator, @vyb-curator, @pob-curator, @neoxag-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕.

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the Cartel on Discord.

Wow. I've always known turmeric is a very important spice due to it's benefits but I didn't know it can cure depression. This is entirely new.

Thank you for your comments. Yeah, it has a medicinal unit that has helped alleviate depression

Wow. I'll check that out. It's entirely new to me.

Thanks for your contribution to the STEMsocial community. Feel free to join us on discord to get to know the rest of us!

Please consider delegating to the @stemsocial account (85% of the curation rewards are returned).

You may also include @stemsocial as a beneficiary of the rewards of this post to get a stronger support. 
 

At my place, turmeric is processed into herbal medicine, every morning I often meet women who go around with bicycles to sell herbs, I have drank and it tastes bitter, although many other herbal plants are served in one preparation, I believe turmeric must be the main recipe. Nice share.

Thank you for your comments. I have never tasted a raw tumeric before.

Curcumin's anti-inflammatory properties make it a possible therapy option for inflammatory diseases such as diabetes as well. After 16 weeks of supplementing obese mice with type 2 diabetes with curcumin, blood insulin levels were reduced, according to a study published in Nutrition & Metabolism in July 2019. According to a review in Evidence-Based Complementary and Alternative Medicine, curcumin may also help prevent type 2 diabetes by improving insulin resistance, lowering high blood sugar, and reducing high cholesterol.

Dear @jsalvage , Turmeric was originally used as a seasoning for food in India and Southeast Asia. In particular, it is widely consumed in East Asia as it is said to be good for heart disease and cancer treatment.
However, because turmeric is very spicy, there are claims that it increases the incidence of indigestion and stomach cancer.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Curry#East_Asia

East Asians also often enjoy food with turmeric.

Wow, thank so much for your comments. Today, many people from other countries are making massively use of the tumeric